Hate Speech Problem


I am concerned that our nation is becoming a tender box for a larger fire ahead. After the recent presidential election, I have seen or witnessed many white people acting as if racism is completely okay and acceptable in our society. This greatly disturbs me. I don’t blame Trump. However, I do reserve a bit of responsibility for law enforcement and political leaders in general. First, our elected leaders represent all Americans and the spirit of our nation. We are all equal and should be treated as such. No person should ever be harassed anywhere in our country because of the color of his/her skin. I will also say that to a person or group should be subject to insult, maliciously slur or defame them in a manner violating their human dignity. Just like you cannot yell fire in a theater you shouldn’t be allowed to yell at someone with using the N word or other phobic phrases or gestures.

I believe in our Bill of Rights and Constitution. However, it should not be used as a literal punching bag to see what we can do to push the proverbial envelope. When I see any race doing its best to intimidate another race or group in a public setting such as a mall, store or restaurant, then they should be charged and go directly to jail. I’m not trying to say we should live in a perfect state free from scorn. What I am saying is that there is no place to throw your temper tantrums at humanity because you didn’t get your way and feel superior to others.

Law Enforcement does very little to separate these issues because of the courts. An officer is not going to use a hate crime or public disturbance arrest because of the levels of paperwork only to be perhaps dismissed by a judge. But let the judge decide would be my argument. To remedy and change the problem we must address the issue head on, even if it is not popular. It’s the law and should allow a cooling off period of what is acceptable in our society. Otherwise, racism and forms of discrimination will continue and I fear will escalate to larger forms of violence if we allow law enforcement just to shrug it off.

Author: dsdaughtry

“You’re punching and you’re kicking and you’re shouting at me / I’m relying on your common decency?" I tried to become vegan (it was the worst 6 hours of my life), Blogging Columnist, Army veteran, economic liberalism, Arizona State alumnus, and a graduate student at University of South Dakota. I hope you enjoy my site! | B.A. Organizational Leadership | M.S. Political Science

Leave a Reply

