Thank you, Mr. Obama


As this week ends, we will say goodbye to President Obama. In all honesty, I thought he was a good president. To me, he was diplomatic, good with his words, an excellent speaker and tried to do more for people rather than doing for business. Perhaps this is where American business didn’t care for him? In all honesty, my assessment of individuals that didn’t like the president sounded a bit more racially motivated than actually trying to understand his policies. In most cases, those that opposed the president just wanted to argue with him for the sake of having an argument. It’s no wonder why nothing really got done?

 

I am unsure what will happen to the Affordable Care Act? Sure, Congress will do everything to repeal it. I’ve overheard a replacement plan. But if the opposition hasn’t introduced an alternative plan in the past six years then I feel there is not a substitution in the works. Our jobs creation seems to be doing quite well. After all the president did have to work after a complete collapse of the financial markets. His administration did find Bin Laden. The list can go on. But what I liked was his diplomacy and respect for others. That is purely presidential, and I don’t think we will experience that in the future administration. I can only hope that the pundits are wrong and the new administration will find diplomacy and honorable words.

 

I must remember that the President is our national cheerleader for the American people. It is not a position about industry, rather “people first.” In fact, the leaders of business should be CEO’s and corporate directors; not politicians. The office of the presidency should not be overly engaged with corporate affairs. Instead, he or she should request the world to do business with the United States and let those leaders run a business as they see fit. As for foreign affairs, this is where our United Nations should be doing more to its ability to negotiate. There is no quick fix to war. Only negotiations and talking will keep from the fighting are how I assess that style of diplomacy.

 

I hope I am wrong, but we may find ourselves wishing Obama would still be our president when the new administration is installed. Again, I hope I am wrong. It took the Obama a while to stop him from using his Blackberry. I certainly hope that the new president will stop using his Twitter. Maybe things will get better. Who knows? But I do want to say to President Obama – Thank you for your service to our nation.

Author: dsdaughtry

“You’re punching and you’re kicking and you’re shouting at me / I’m relying on your common decency?" I tried to become vegan (it was the worst 6 hours of my life), Blogging Columnist, Army veteran, economic liberalism, Arizona State alumnus, and a graduate student at University of South Dakota. I hope you enjoy my site! | B.A. Organizational Leadership | M.S. Political Science

Leave a Reply

