Sore Losers


I didn’t want to start off my blog with a rant about President Trump. In fact, I won’t. However what I will rant a bit about is the lack of respect from the opposing party that didn’t win in the recent U.S. election. It is no secret that I am a Democrat. But perhaps I try to be a better person rather than bitching about Trump taking the oath of office. What disturbs me the most about recent political protests is that it sends a horrible message about the “transfer of power.” To me, the transfer of power should always remain professional and cordial as a united people in the United States. We do have our differences, but we must learn to get past them and take that negative energy to turn it into advocacy for whatever our causes are.

I have to admit that I didn’t want to watch the inauguration. However, out of respect, I did. Okay, I didn’t like President Trump’s speech to the American people. It seemed more critical of the political establishment rather than the corporations responsible for moving those jobs overseas. There were many speakers, hecklers and those just wanting to argue or rehash old news. What made me sad was when people would boo other people. Hillary Clinton, in good taste and poise, was invited to the inauguration and did so even despite her personal feelings. I feel she honored the code of transfer of power and an ability that many Americans so often forget – good sportsmanship and conduct. When the giant screens along the Mall would show Hillary’s face, people would boo. Of course, we have free speech. But today our civility seems completely lost. The world cannot respect the United States if we are not the real leaders of respect and a united people.

Of course, political leadership will continue to argue with the press and attempt to put a spin on things. I don’t think the popular television show House of Cards would ever be popular if we didn’t already know the backstabbing plots and twists among our nation’s leaders. It is all about power. But what is most amazing is despite that power struggle there is still a level of respect and decorum for each other. The American people seem more interested in a sudden death match as if politics are somehow going to break out into a WWE main event cage match. This is not how diplomacy works. We must be mindful that diplomacy is the issue at hand rather than the personal vendetta or agenda. The agenda is about what is right for all people.

Lastly, while I am growing disappointed in American people not trying to work simple differences, I am saddened at how we have become somewhat sore losers. If the amount of bitching and negativity were energized during Election Day, we might have a different outcome. I personally know of many Democrats that didn’t vote on Election Day because they assumed Trump would lose. To me, that is arrogance while blaming the opposition for winning and then being bad sports about it. Perhaps we should be living a bit more like Kennedy’s speech of. “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.” During the next four years, all Americans should be working towards what is best for our nation.

Author: dsdaughtry

“You’re punching and you’re kicking and you’re shouting at me / I’m relying on your common decency?" I tried to become vegan (it was the worst 6 hours of my life), Blogging Columnist, Army veteran, economic liberalism, Arizona State alumnus, and a graduate student at University of South Dakota. I hope you enjoy my site! | B.A. Organizational Leadership | M.S. Political Science

3 thoughts on “Sore Losers”

    1. It is fine to disagree. In fact it is healthy. Perhaps I am more of a diplomat that choses to turn off most of the disturbing rhetoric. I do so because I don’t care for distractions or non-credible jabber – especially from Trump. Instead I try to focus on the bigger message and be an advocate for causes near and dear to me. If I kept complaining about Trump then none of the things on lifes agenda will ever get done. I dont boo. I celebrate, cheer and fight for my democracy. Trump is just a blip on the radar and wont last long if we move forward and press our progressive ideas.

      Thanks for the comment. It is greatly appreciated.

      1. Ditto on the disturbing rhetoric. That is what shut me up around, oh, September of last year. When the REALLY ridiculous Hillary accusations manifested. (I still, have yet, to see any really ‘damning’ email evidence that wouldn’t be found on some other politicians account… lol. Hey, it’s a nasty business. And if it was just chatter, it was just that… talk.) It started to feel like a playground argument… ugh.

        I swore after the election though, not to be silent. Because a lot of faulty logic got cycled and recycled through social media. And the in-person discussions got nasty and accusatory, and ridiculous with their social media ‘facts’. Anyway… the chat window has scrolled past my point. lol. (Sorry)

        Thanks for understanding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

